On the First Day of Christmas, my True Love Gave to Me….

Happy Holidays with beer! I'm putting on of these in my house. Gonna have to drink ALOT of Peroni....

A Rogue Santa’s Private Reserve.

WELLLLLL, friends, here we go with the 12 BEERS OF CHRISTMAS!!!!! The first night begins in the cozy, warm, and dry confines of my New Orleans apartment…..

It’s cold. Its torrentially raining. The streets are flooded. New Orleans is spending its Saturday night inside.  And so am I. Curled up on the couch with pillows and blankets, I am watching a string of holiday movies and drinking my first Christmas beer. Might as well inundate myself right?

Glitter snowflakes and Rogue Santa. Yes, beer lovers I realize the symmetry.

Rogue Santa’s Private Reserve: ABV: 6%, Red Ale

This delightful and easy-drinking beer is actually from LAST year’s release, 2008.  I have not yet had the 2009 release, but will report if I can get ahold of it. This beer is not vintage marked, but easily made the year of aging. Due to the fair amount of sediment in the bottom of the bottle, my thought is that it is either unfiltered or bottle-conditioned. But no such indication of either on their website. Anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Think I’ll give them a call on Monday.

Pours out a lovely light amber color, with orange hues. Not a ton of aromatics on the nose, but still some bright and vibrant notes of citrus, pine, and a bit of spice. And definite notes of yeast. More focused in the bottle, of course.

On the palate, a nice, smooth and rounded maltiness, a possible indication of Munich malt…Yep, it’s in there! (I learned about Munich malt from Eric Jensen) An easy, yet refreshing finish that makes it as easy as pie to take another sip.  As you approach the bottom of the bottle, the yeast aromatics intensify, but we are not talking Belgian beer here folks.  It’s still easy-going. Drink this beer while wrapping presents or watching holiday bowl games. You’ll be able to go through them like gangbusters.  Looking forward to trying the current release and comparing…..Stay tuned!

Happy 1st Day of Christmas!

CHEERS!

Your $.02 gladly accepted here...

