On the Seventh Day of Christmas, My True Love Gave to Me….

Six herbs and spices…

OOH, close folks. Close.

ooooh. looks magical swathed in soft light.

Gouden Carolus Noel: ABV: 10.5%

Hailing from one of the oldest breweries in Belgium (1369!), Gouden Carolus come on down! This brewery, known for the famous Cuvee van de Keizer, started making the Noel again in 2002 after 38 years of absence.  Now made in August of each year, the Noel rests for several months before release.

i want to go to there.

And whoa. This Strong Dark Ale is intense.  So, the name fits. Tons of dried, dark fruit aromas, like currant and fig come pouring out of the glass. Add to that malty sweetness, and  you can smell it from a foot away. And boy, that richness follows through on the palate.  A substantial yeastiness and sugar level is detectable as well as alcohol.  While I enjoyed it, I would suggest sharing this with others, and sipping.  This is not one to chug friends….

P.S. I went to what I thought was their website, http://www.goudencarolus.nl/, and I swear the man in the icon winked at me. Will someone out there check it out and tell me if I am crazy?! And since I cannot read it, I have NO IDEA what it says….I did find another site, which gives alot more understandable info on the Gouden Carolus lineup of brews. AND they make a whisky!! Click here to check it out.

CHEERS!

One Comment Add yours

  1. vasu says:

    Yes, the guy in the logo on their site winks!

    you get extra points for the 30 rock reference!

Your $.02 gladly accepted here...

