Poppies and Angels….

People LOVED my Drew shirt.

Sound like a happy Opium trip?  It was something like that.  A few days ago, I journeyed up to Lost Abbey for the release of their limited and highly sought after Red Poppy Ale and 2009 Angel’s Share.

Friends headed up to be there when the doors opened, but after traveling across the country for days and drinking myself into a coma with Pliny the Elder, Rodenbach Grand Cru, and Russian River’s Consecration the day before, my tired behind couldn’t get up there until 11:30.

A good crowd filled the brewery’s tasting room, but thankfully it was not the mob scene I had feared. After getting a good dose of the Red Poppy and their limited Framboise, we perched on malt sack topped barrels for chairs with a 750ml of Brother Levonian, the same delightful, refreshing Saison I first tasted last month.

Click on the pic to see the barrel notes up close!!

A perfect way to wake up! I thought.  In fact, I could easily drink this beer with my breakfast.  Notes of apricot, black pepper, and spice perk up the nose, while a comforting yeastiness lays the foundation.  Like the biscuits you just have to have with your eggs and bacon.

Stay tuned for a full review of the Red Poppy Ale and both the 2008 and 2009 Angel’s Share tasted side by side!!!

CHEERS!!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Chuck says:

    Happy opium trip indeed. Just looking at all those beautiful barells full of Older Viscosity and Red Poppy brings such joy to my heart.

Your $.02 gladly accepted here...

