An Overlooked Classic: Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ale

We beer geeks often get gloriously entwined in the trailblazing new beer of the moment. Collaborations, one-off’s, & the idiosyncratic liquids of our beloved brewers often keep our focus, and we blithely forget some of the classic beers that are the cornerstone of the Craft beer revolution.

Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ale, 7.2% ABV: One of the biggest arguments against browns is that they can be a bit humdrum. NOT the case here. Quite possibly one my favorite brown ales out there, and honestly, one that took me by surprise no less than two short weeks ago.  Full of fabulous notes of brown sugar, toast, dark caramel, and chocolate, perfectly mingled with the proper dose of grassy, citrus hops, this beer achieves a expert balance between the singular magic traits of malts and hops.

Even if you think browns have had their day, do yourself a favor and find this on draft. You will be oh-so pleased and I feel sure a smile will ensue.

Cheers.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. RyanC says:

    Dogfish Head Brown is an awesome beer. I have heard Mr. Calagione put a recipe in his book Extreme Brewing to make this. Going to have to be my next home brew.

  2. Ryan says:

    Love the Dogfish Head brown. I have heard Mr. Calagione put a clone recipe of this in his book Extreme Brewing. I am thinking that will have to be my next brew.

  3. I agree. This was out prior to the Cascadian Dark/Black IPA trend. Althought it is a brown, it was kind of a forerunner in that trend as well. Has become one of my favorites from DFH.

  4. Clean Pete says:

    Moose Drool is a great brown ale too…

    1. I totally agree! It’s been a longtime choice of mine, actually I can’t believe I’ve never written a review of that. 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

Your $.02 gladly accepted here...

